My Pick of the Week

September 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

I love wine grown by family estates, by one family or individual I can point to as the source for the great wines I sell. So it’s a rare thing for me to get behind a wine that comes from a cooperative of growers; it’s got to be truly delicious AND expressive of its place and grape for me to support it. The tiny Southern French wine growing region of Corbieres is home to just such a co-op- Castelmaure. There are 65 growers in the co-op 15 of whom are responsible for 85% of the production. Everything I have tasted from Castelmaure is an authentic expression of Corbieres; their Grand Cuvee is a delicious blend that I might talk more about when the weather is colder. Right now I think the less heavy, more versatile “Col des Vents” bottling is the ticket for satisfying red wine drinking.

Castelmaure Corbieres “Col des Vents” 2009  Packed with ripe red fruit, but it’s all held in check by peppery spice, subtle limestone minerals, and bright acidity. It’s quintessential bistro red that shouldn’t be over intellectualized… not the center of conversation, but the bacchanalian catalyst for good conversations.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Pick of the Week at Potations, Libations, and Fermentations.

meta

